Heart Of Metal
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.



 
HomeRegisterLog in

 

 It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!

Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
AuthorMessage
anthrax_fan
Metal graduate
Metal graduate
anthrax_fan

Number of posts : 442
Age : 45

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Icon_minitimeTue Feb 11, 2020 12:08 pm

the sentinel wrote:
I know it's because of my age and the time of my formative years in Metal, but I love a lot of albums from some of the Metal elite from '86 or so that usually get slagged as sellout albums by those who were already long time fans

Turbo
Ultimate Sin
Sacred Heart
Somewhere in Time
To Hell With the Devil
Rock the Nations
Theatre of Pain
5150

I was 12 in March of 1986 and I was just discovering a lot of the Rock and Roll royalty and I just couldn't get enough. I loved it then, love it now, and always will!


Aside From "Turbo" these albums are actually well received by the metal audiences . Want to talk about sell outs ? What about Savatage's "Fight for Rock" or Saxon "Innocence is no Excuse" or "Destiny" or Accept's "Eat the Heat" or Celtic Frost "Cold Lake" ? The time where all of these bands attempted the "glam" "flavour of the day" and THE METAL PUBLIC JUST DIDN'T ACCEPT IT . oh yeah , Turbo sucks . Its a ridiculous record . But I like "Ram it Down" a lot .


Last edited by anthrax_fan on Tue Feb 11, 2020 12:11 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
anthrax_fan
Metal graduate
Metal graduate
anthrax_fan

Number of posts : 442
Age : 45

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Icon_minitimeTue Feb 11, 2020 12:10 pm

Man , Sacred Heart is a FANTASTIC Heavy Metal Album . aside from the ULTRA CORNY "shoot shoot" it has the classic Dio sound .
Back to top Go down
anthrax_fan
Metal graduate
Metal graduate
anthrax_fan

Number of posts : 442
Age : 45

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Icon_minitimeTue Feb 11, 2020 12:12 pm

Well , "Rock the Nations" is not well received , but the rest , I know many people that dig these records listed .
Back to top Go down
anthrax_fan
Metal graduate
Metal graduate
anthrax_fan

Number of posts : 442
Age : 45

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Icon_minitimeTue Feb 11, 2020 12:18 pm

Well , my UNpopular opinion : Kiss is boring and overrated , I never really cared about them ...
Back to top Go down
anthrax_fan
Metal graduate
Metal graduate
anthrax_fan

Number of posts : 442
Age : 45

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Icon_minitimeTue Feb 11, 2020 12:18 pm

Another UNpopular opinion from and ANTHRAX FAN : State of Euphoria is a lame record .
Back to top Go down
Fat Freddy
Lord of all PBR's
Lord of all PBR's
Fat Freddy

Number of posts : 34618
Age : 50

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Icon_minitimeTue Feb 11, 2020 12:20 pm

anthrax_fan wrote:
State of Euphoria is a lame record .

I actually agree with this. It was a huge let down after "Spreading" and "Among."

_________________
"I am reluctant to get too deep into politics, and I don’t expect politicians to get too deep into music."
- Paul Stanley

HEY KIDS! Check out my way-cool CD and movie reviews and other geeky nonsense on the HubPages Network: http://hubpages.com/@fatfreddyscat
...and for even MORE Metal & Movie fun, check out my lame ass Tumblr blog! http://keefer1970.tumblr.com/
Back to top Go down
Troublezone
Dog Will Hunt!
Troublezone

Number of posts : 13736
Age : 44

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Icon_minitimeTue Feb 11, 2020 12:21 pm

I like State of Euphoria. Much better than their 90s crap!
Back to top Go down
anthrax_fan
Metal graduate
Metal graduate
anthrax_fan

Number of posts : 442
Age : 45

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Icon_minitimeTue Feb 11, 2020 12:33 pm

Troublezone wrote:
I like State of Euphoria. Much better than their 90s crap!


Well , their 90s and 2000s album where all terrible . I like "Sound of White Noise" a little bit , but I came to the conclusion that it has more to do with the "nostalgia" of that year (1993) than the music per se . Anthrax was unrecognizable on the bush era . The Belladonna Solo records where far superior to ANY Anthrax material from the Bush days ...
Back to top Go down
anthrax_fan
Metal graduate
Metal graduate
anthrax_fan

Number of posts : 442
Age : 45

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Icon_minitimeTue Feb 11, 2020 12:34 pm

And a small trivia : aside from SOWN , they where all released in the same years Anthrax released their garbage .
Back to top Go down
Gilbert
Metal is Forever
Gilbert

Number of posts : 7764
Age : 45

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Icon_minitimeTue Feb 11, 2020 12:49 pm

Fistful of Metal is my favourite Anthrax album, and the one I tend to go back to the most.
Back to top Go down
anthrax_fan
Metal graduate
Metal graduate
anthrax_fan

Number of posts : 442
Age : 45

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Icon_minitimeThu Feb 13, 2020 5:53 am

Unpopular opinion : early 80's Saxon is Hard Rock to my standards ...
Back to top Go down
ZombieHavoc
Heart of Metal
Heart of Metal
ZombieHavoc

Number of posts : 2347
Age : 42

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Icon_minitimeThu Feb 13, 2020 3:26 pm

Maybe an unpopular opinion, but I think The Great Southern Trendkill is Pantera's best record and is the one I go back to the most.
Back to top Go down
Hadley
Metal master
Metal master


Number of posts : 899
Age : 41

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Icon_minitimeThu Feb 13, 2020 3:50 pm

Manowar's The Triumph of Steel, aside from Metal Warriors, is a dull, boring album, especially compared to what came before (Kings of Metal) and after (Louder Than Hell).
Back to top Go down
Fat Freddy
Lord of all PBR's
Lord of all PBR's
Fat Freddy

Number of posts : 34618
Age : 50

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Icon_minitimeThu Feb 13, 2020 4:02 pm

The whole concept of "Christian Black Metal" is just really, really, really f***ing stupid.

_________________
"I am reluctant to get too deep into politics, and I don’t expect politicians to get too deep into music."
- Paul Stanley

HEY KIDS! Check out my way-cool CD and movie reviews and other geeky nonsense on the HubPages Network: http://hubpages.com/@fatfreddyscat
...and for even MORE Metal & Movie fun, check out my lame ass Tumblr blog! http://keefer1970.tumblr.com/
Back to top Go down
ZombieHavoc
Heart of Metal
Heart of Metal
ZombieHavoc

Number of posts : 2347
Age : 42

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Icon_minitimeThu Feb 13, 2020 4:07 pm

Hadley wrote:
Manowar's The Triumph of Steel, aside from Metal Warriors, is a dull, boring album, especially compared to what came before (Kings of Metal) and after (Louder Than Hell).

I actually think Triumph is really solid, or had the potential to be. It really should've been two albums. They could do their noodly mini-epic and call that album The Glory of Achilles, and then the rest comprise a whole other album, called Metal Warriors. On the original double LP, the Achilles epic comprises the first LP and the second LP starts with Metal Warriors...so that second LP really feels like a concise true Manowar album. It is further burdened though by unnecessary wind intros and intros of swords being sharpened and shit, but every Manowar album feels like you have to wade through filler, noises, ballads and shit to get to the good stuff.

So when I listen to it, I just queue it up on Spotify nowadays and start with Metal Warriors.

Back when I had the cassette, it was really annoying because Metal Warriors is the last song on side one, so it was either sit through Achilles or fast forward.
Back to top Go down
scottmitchell74
Jada Pinkett Smith's Cabana Boy
scottmitchell74

Number of posts : 8722
Age : 46

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Icon_minitimeThu Feb 13, 2020 4:24 pm

Fat Freddy wrote:
The whole concept of "Christian Black Metal" is just really, really, really f***ing stupid.


You mean the name?

If a band is Christian but wants to play that style of music do they just call it Black Metal and let the lyrics distinguish them from the crowd?


Or is your objection Christians playing Black Metal?


Explain!

Back to top Go down
Fat Freddy
Lord of all PBR's
Lord of all PBR's
Fat Freddy

Number of posts : 34618
Age : 50

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Icon_minitimeThu Feb 13, 2020 4:42 pm

scottmitchell74 wrote:
Fat Freddy wrote:
The whole concept of "Christian Black Metal" is just really, really, really f***ing stupid.


You mean the name?

If a band is Christian but wants to play that style of music do they just call it Black Metal and let the lyrics distinguish them from the crowd?


Or is your objection Christians playing Black Metal?


Explain!


A little from column A, some from column B, I guess...the term "Christian Black Metal" seems like an oxymoron, but then again, calling it "Un-black Metal" seems silly too.

Don't get me wrong, Christians can play whatever they want, of course, but I never got why they'd wanna dabble in stuff that's supposed to be the audio equivalent of pure hatred/evil/misogyny/mental illness/etc. (shrugs). I mean... I wonder who the first Christian guy was who heard Mayhem/Burzum/etc. and said, "Hey, I can do that too, with way less church burning," haha.

Don't mind me, cuz I'm talkin' out my ass here ... aside from occasionally making fun of the outfits/face paint and the "tr00 grimm kvlt" elitist thang, I don't "get" regular black metal either.

No offense was intended, I'm just bored and throwing some snark around to keep this thread going.  I guess that last post sounded funnier in my head.

_________________
"I am reluctant to get too deep into politics, and I don’t expect politicians to get too deep into music."
- Paul Stanley

HEY KIDS! Check out my way-cool CD and movie reviews and other geeky nonsense on the HubPages Network: http://hubpages.com/@fatfreddyscat
...and for even MORE Metal & Movie fun, check out my lame ass Tumblr blog! http://keefer1970.tumblr.com/
Back to top Go down
Fat Freddy
Lord of all PBR's
Lord of all PBR's
Fat Freddy

Number of posts : 34618
Age : 50

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Icon_minitimeThu Feb 13, 2020 5:23 pm

Lemme try again:

"Coronavirus" would be a good name for a thrash band. Sounds like someone who would've opened for Anthrax and Biohazard back in the day. Razz

_________________
"I am reluctant to get too deep into politics, and I don’t expect politicians to get too deep into music."
- Paul Stanley

HEY KIDS! Check out my way-cool CD and movie reviews and other geeky nonsense on the HubPages Network: http://hubpages.com/@fatfreddyscat
...and for even MORE Metal & Movie fun, check out my lame ass Tumblr blog! http://keefer1970.tumblr.com/
Back to top Go down
scottmitchell74
Jada Pinkett Smith's Cabana Boy
scottmitchell74

Number of posts : 8722
Age : 46

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Icon_minitimeThu Feb 13, 2020 5:34 pm

Fat Freddy wrote:
scottmitchell74 wrote:
Fat Freddy wrote:
The whole concept of "Christian Black Metal" is just really, really, really f***ing stupid.


You mean the name?

If a band is Christian but wants to play that style of music do they just call it Black Metal and let the lyrics distinguish them from the crowd?


Or is your objection Christians playing Black Metal?


Explain!


A little from column A, some from column B, I guess...the term "Christian Black Metal" seems like an oxymoron, but then again, calling it "Un-black Metal" seems silly too.

Don't get me wrong, Christians can play whatever they want, of course, but I never got why they'd wanna dabble in stuff that's supposed to be the audio equivalent of pure hatred/evil/misogyny/mental illness/etc. (shrugs). I mean... I wonder who the first Christian guy was who heard Mayhem/Burzum/etc. and said, "Hey, I can do that too, with way less church burning," haha.

Don't mind me, cuz I'm talkin' out my ass here ... aside from occasionally making fun of the outfits/face paint and the "tr00 grimm kvlt" elitist thang, I don't "get" regular black metal either.  

No offense was intended, I'm just bored and throwing some snark around to keep this thread going.  I guess that last post sounded funnier in my head.

Smile I wasn't offended even a bit. Tone and intent gets lost on message boards. I was just curious what your objection was. Yours was similar to many folk.

It is a conundrum, but I don't know what to do about it. Many Christians honestly love the sound, but hate the lyrics. I don't see it being different from any other aggressive-sounding music.

Fat Freddy basically indistinguishable from Tipper Gore! It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 438278 Very Happy
Back to top Go down
Fat Freddy
Lord of all PBR's
Lord of all PBR's
Fat Freddy

Number of posts : 34618
Age : 50

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Icon_minitimeThu Feb 13, 2020 5:38 pm

scottmitchell74 wrote:


Fat Freddy basically indistinguishable from Tipper Gore! It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 438278 Very Happy

(Ahem) My legs are WAY nicer than Tipper Gore's.

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 114224355-hairy-man-s-legs-isolated-on-a-white-background

_________________
"I am reluctant to get too deep into politics, and I don’t expect politicians to get too deep into music."
- Paul Stanley

HEY KIDS! Check out my way-cool CD and movie reviews and other geeky nonsense on the HubPages Network: http://hubpages.com/@fatfreddyscat
...and for even MORE Metal & Movie fun, check out my lame ass Tumblr blog! http://keefer1970.tumblr.com/
Back to top Go down
Hadley
Metal master
Metal master


Number of posts : 899
Age : 41

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Icon_minitimeThu Feb 13, 2020 9:56 pm

You could make the same argument about Christian Death Metal,or Christian punk rock. Heck, there's even a subgenre of Christian Gangsta Rap. No, it wasnt about poppin a cap in Satan, it just had the same style of beats and rapping, only with Christian lyrics.
Back to top Go down
Mglaffas81
Heart of Metal
Heart of Metal
Mglaffas81

Number of posts : 2208
Age : 36

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Icon_minitimeFri Feb 14, 2020 5:32 am


Demolition is way better than Jugulator
Back to top Go down
Troublezone
Dog Will Hunt!
Troublezone

Number of posts : 13736
Age : 44

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Icon_minitimeFri Feb 14, 2020 5:36 am

Mglaffas81 wrote:

Demolition is way better than Jugulator

You might like it better... but “way” better?
Back to top Go down
Troublezone
Dog Will Hunt!
Troublezone

Number of posts : 13736
Age : 44

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Icon_minitimeFri Feb 14, 2020 5:39 am

Spineless by Tourniquet is better than Anthrax’s cover of Bring the Noise.
Back to top Go down
Mglaffas81
Heart of Metal
Heart of Metal
Mglaffas81

Number of posts : 2208
Age : 36

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Icon_minitimeFri Feb 14, 2020 6:02 am

Troublezone wrote:
Mglaffas81 wrote:

Demolition is way better than Jugulator

You might like it better... but “way” better?



All right, I may have been carried away by the general irreverent tone of this thread - I have no problem with Jugulator in terms of style and Blood Stained is an awesome song that introduced me to Ripper-era Priest when I saw the performance of it off their Live in London concert - Demolition was, however, the first of the two I bought and I really enjoyed it, so I was really psyched to hear Jugulator, which I only acquired a few years later, and it just left me pretty cold - it just wasn't doing much for me and songs like Bullet Train and Cathedral Spires, which I had heard so many good things about, really bored me.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 7 Icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!
Back to top 
Page 7 of 9Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Heart Of Metal :: Music Forums :: Heart Of Metal-
Jump to: