Heart Of Metal
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.



 
HomeRegisterLog in

 

 It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!

Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
AuthorMessage
the sentinel
Metal is Forever
the sentinel

Number of posts : 9428
Age : 46

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Icon_minitimeTue Jan 07, 2020 9:34 pm

Bands I could care less about:

Misfits
Danzig
King Diamond
Mercyful Fate
Slayer
Guns N Roses
Faster Pussycat
Enuff Znuff
Phil Anselmo Solo

That's all for now.

Back to top Go down
scottmitchell74
Jada Pinkett Smith's Cabana Boy
scottmitchell74

Number of posts : 8728
Age : 46

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Icon_minitimeTue Jan 07, 2020 10:43 pm

Although I like plenty of Judas Priest...about 1/2 of Halford's best songs are on Fight - War of Words.

Love that thing!!
Back to top Go down
Troublezone
Dog Will Hunt!
Troublezone

Number of posts : 13757
Age : 44

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Icon_minitimeTue Jan 07, 2020 11:25 pm

scottmitchell74 wrote:
Although I like plenty of Judas Priest...about 1/2 of Halford's best songs are on Fight - War of Words.

Love that thing!!

I think Painkiller and War of Words are my two favorite albums with Halford. Most people would say British Steel and Screaming for Vengeance (which I also love).
Back to top Go down
scottmitchell74
Jada Pinkett Smith's Cabana Boy
scottmitchell74

Number of posts : 8728
Age : 46

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Icon_minitimeWed Jan 08, 2020 6:29 am

Ha! You just name my 3-favorite Halford albums (Painkiller and Screaming with War of Words).
Back to top Go down
the sentinel
Metal is Forever
the sentinel

Number of posts : 9428
Age : 46

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Icon_minitimeWed Jan 08, 2020 9:29 am

I love War of Words. It's such a no frills, bad ass guitar driven album. From the black and white album cover to the one or two word song titles, it just gets down to business quick and keeps the needle tacked the whole time. Even the band photos are like just a bunch of dudes jamming in a garage somewhere.
Back to top Go down
Fat Freddy
Lord of all PBR's
Lord of all PBR's
Fat Freddy

Number of posts : 34648
Age : 50

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Icon_minitimeWed Jan 08, 2020 10:23 am

Oh yeah, me likee Fight's War of Words a lot. I saw them on the tour for that album and it is still one of the best shows I ever saw.

...title track aside, I think Painkiller is insanely overrated. Gimme Stained Class any day. (shrugs)

_________________
"I am reluctant to get too deep into politics, and I don’t expect politicians to get too deep into music."
- Paul Stanley

HEY KIDS! Check out my way-cool CD and movie reviews and other geeky nonsense on the HubPages Network: http://hubpages.com/@fatfreddyscat
...and for even MORE Metal & Movie fun, check out my lame ass Tumblr blog! http://keefer1970.tumblr.com/
Back to top Go down
Troublezone
Dog Will Hunt!
Troublezone

Number of posts : 13757
Age : 44

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Icon_minitimeWed Jan 08, 2020 12:11 pm

the sentinel wrote:
I love War of Words. It's such a no frills, bad ass guitar driven album. From the black and white album cover to the one or two word song titles, it just gets down to business quick and keeps the needle tacked the whole time. Even the band photos are like just a bunch of dudes jamming in a garage somewhere.

At the time, Halford was influenced by Pantera. You can definitely hear it on songs like Nailed to the Gun and Kill It.
Back to top Go down
Fat Freddy
Lord of all PBR's
Lord of all PBR's
Fat Freddy

Number of posts : 34648
Age : 50

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Icon_minitimeWed Jan 08, 2020 12:13 pm

Troublezone wrote:

At the time, Halford was influenced by Pantera. You can definitely hear it on songs like Nailed to the Gun and Kill It.

On his first solo single, "Light Comes Out of Black" (from the Buffy the Vampire Slayer movie soundtrack), his backing band *was* Pantera!


_________________
"I am reluctant to get too deep into politics, and I don’t expect politicians to get too deep into music."
- Paul Stanley

HEY KIDS! Check out my way-cool CD and movie reviews and other geeky nonsense on the HubPages Network: http://hubpages.com/@fatfreddyscat
...and for even MORE Metal & Movie fun, check out my lame ass Tumblr blog! http://keefer1970.tumblr.com/
Back to top Go down
007
Metal is my Life
Metal is my Life
007

Number of posts : 31737
Age : 52

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Icon_minitimeWed Jan 08, 2020 12:14 pm

^^^^ And an excellent song, that is !
Back to top Go down
the sentinel
Metal is Forever
the sentinel

Number of posts : 9428
Age : 46

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Icon_minitimeWed Jan 08, 2020 6:28 pm

Fat Freddy wrote:
Troublezone wrote:

At the time, Halford was influenced by Pantera. You can definitely hear it on songs like Nailed to the Gun and Kill It.

On his first solo single, "Light Comes Out of Black" (from the Buffy the Vampire Slayer movie soundtrack), his backing band *was* Pantera!


Ahh...you beat me to it, FF!!! angry
Back to top Go down
Troublezone
Dog Will Hunt!
Troublezone

Number of posts : 13757
Age : 44

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Icon_minitimeWed Jan 08, 2020 8:53 pm

Fat Freddy wrote:
Troublezone wrote:

At the time, Halford was influenced by Pantera. You can definitely hear it on songs like Nailed to the Gun and Kill It.

On his first solo single, "Light Comes Out of Black" (from the Buffy the Vampire Slayer movie soundtrack), his backing band *was* Pantera!


Hell yeah! (No pun intended) I know about that. I always loved this song! I wish Halford used it as a bonus track on a reissue or a compilation, but it never happened. There must be a copyright issue or something...

I think there is a live version on his Live in Anaheim album.
Back to top Go down
John Madden
Metal student
Metal student
John Madden

Number of posts : 169
Age : 84

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Icon_minitimeWed Jan 08, 2020 10:48 pm

Accept is better than Ac/Dc
Dio era Sabbath is overrated
Human Sacrifice was VR's only good album
Testament is a boring band
Kyuss was criminally underrated, QOTSA the opposite
Slayer's last great album was Divine Intervention
The new Powermad kicks major ass
Sacred Reich are boring live
Ultra-Violence is overrated, ACT III underrated
NWOBHM deserves more respect. Legend, Holocaust, White Spirit, Angel Witch .So many great bands
Thrash is better than black or death
Doom is a limited genre that's hard to write original songs
Seduce and London were good bands
I believe there should be a separate category for American Power Metal, such as Warlord, Damien, Banshee, Omen, Jag Panzer, Oliver Magnum, Savatage, Metal Church, Meliah Rage etc.
Star Wars is just....dumb
The last good movie I saw was...... Friday. Might be the greatest movie ever.
Back to top Go down
Fat Freddy
Lord of all PBR's
Lord of all PBR's
Fat Freddy

Number of posts : 34648
Age : 50

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Icon_minitimeFri Jan 10, 2020 7:21 am

None of the albums Maiden have released since Bruce rejoined have been as good as "Accident of Birth" or "Chemical Wedding."

_________________
"I am reluctant to get too deep into politics, and I don’t expect politicians to get too deep into music."
- Paul Stanley

HEY KIDS! Check out my way-cool CD and movie reviews and other geeky nonsense on the HubPages Network: http://hubpages.com/@fatfreddyscat
...and for even MORE Metal & Movie fun, check out my lame ass Tumblr blog! http://keefer1970.tumblr.com/
Back to top Go down
Temple of Blood
Metal is Forever
Temple of Blood

Number of posts : 5677
Age : 45

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Icon_minitimeFri Jan 10, 2020 9:53 am

Fat Freddy wrote:
None of the albums Maiden have released since Bruce rejoined have been as good as "Accident of Birth" or "Chemical Wedding."

I don't like those 2 albums much but that's still true.
Back to top Go down
the sentinel
Metal is Forever
the sentinel

Number of posts : 9428
Age : 46

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Icon_minitimeFri Jan 10, 2020 9:49 pm

The new Maiden album are in the same category as Priest's Nostradamus; they're good, but I have to be in the mood for them. I don't take them in e gym or blast 'em in the car with the windows down. It's more like the wife and kid are out for the night and I got a six pack and a few hours to kill while I write.
Back to top Go down
Wrecked Neck
Heart of Metal
Heart of Metal
Wrecked Neck

Number of posts : 1695
Age : 50

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Icon_minitimeSat Jan 11, 2020 1:58 am

the sentinel wrote:
The new Maiden album are in the same category as Priest's Nostradamus; they're good, but I have to be in the mood for them. I don't take them in e gym or blast 'em in the car with the windows down. It's more like the wife and kid are out for the night and I got a six pack and a few hours to kill while I write.
I agree somewhat, but I think Nostradamus is a much better album than anything Maiden has done in decades. Only reason I don't listen to it more is because it's such a long album. I do feel if they trimmed some songs it would have been received better by the fans, but I think it's great.
Back to top Go down
corplhicks
Metal is Forever
corplhicks

Number of posts : 7056
Age : 40

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Icon_minitimeSat Jan 11, 2020 6:57 pm

Troublezone wrote:
Fat Freddy wrote:
Troublezone wrote:

At the time, Halford was influenced by Pantera. You can definitely hear it on songs like Nailed to the Gun and Kill It.

On his first solo single, "Light Comes Out of Black" (from the Buffy the Vampire Slayer movie soundtrack), his backing band *was* Pantera!


Hell yeah! (No pun intended) I know about that. I always loved this song! I wish Halford used it as a bonus track on a reissue or a compilation, but it never happened. There must be a copyright issue or something...

I think there is a live version on his Live in Anaheim album.

Well holy shit. I did not know this. Very cool.
Back to top Go down
the sentinel
Metal is Forever
the sentinel

Number of posts : 9428
Age : 46

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Icon_minitimeSat Jan 18, 2020 8:36 pm

I know everyone likes an underdog story, but if you wax romantic about why a particular fave band of yours (that was usually 2nd or 3rd tier) wasn't "bigger" or more successful it's probably cuz they sucked ass. I get tired of seeing people (usually on a Hair Metal forum) whine about why their fave c level band wasn't as successful as Winger or Warrant.
Back to top Go down
Troublezone
Dog Will Hunt!
Troublezone

Number of posts : 13757
Age : 44

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Icon_minitimeSun Jan 19, 2020 4:04 pm

Tears Are Falling and Calling Dr. Love are some of my favorite KISS songs.
Back to top Go down
the sentinel
Metal is Forever
the sentinel

Number of posts : 9428
Age : 46

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Icon_minitimeSun Jan 19, 2020 9:16 pm

Troublezone wrote:
Tears Are Falling and Calling Dr. Love are some of my favorite KISS songs.

I agree with you on Tears, as it's one of my faves too.
Back to top Go down
Lari
Metal is in my blood
Metal is in my blood
Lari

Number of posts : 4987
Age : 40

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Icon_minitimeMon Jan 20, 2020 8:26 am

- The X-Factor is a masterpiece. Dark, brooding, heavy - I love it.
- A Matter of Life and Death is the best Maiden album. A perfect record.
- Wake of Magellan is the best Savatage album. Their old stuff is great, I love Dungeons and Hall and Sirens, but I just think that rock opera feel they developed is also amazing and unique.
- Powerwolf is the greatest and best heavy metal band founded this millenium. Incredible combination of heaviness, hooks, power and melody.

I don't really have negative ones, because I tend to ignore music I don't like and not really even think about it. As long as I am not forced to listen to any specific artist or band, I am fine with whatever music they make.
Back to top Go down
SideShowDisaSter
Roo Jockey
SideShowDisaSter

Number of posts : 4251
Age : 42

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Icon_minitimeWed Jan 22, 2020 9:59 pm

Temple of Blood wrote:
Fat Freddy wrote:
None of the albums Maiden have released since Bruce rejoined have been as good as "Accident of Birth" or "Chemical Wedding."

I don't like those 2 albums much but that's still true.

Accident of Birth didn't do a lot for me, but Chemical Wedding hit all the right notes (for me). I'll definitely agree that Chemical Wedding beats anything Maiden have released since the reunion.

_________________
What a strange, strange freedom. Only free to choose my chains.

http://www.freewebs.com/sideshowdisaster
Back to top Go down
http://www.freewebs.com/sideshowdisaster
metalinmyveins
Metal is in my blood
Metal is in my blood
metalinmyveins

Number of posts : 3195
Age : 49

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Icon_minitimeThu Jan 23, 2020 8:15 pm

Eyesore wrote:
Wendy O. Williams was trash. Not even remotely sexy.

Not to disparage the dead, but absolutely disgusting she was...
Back to top Go down
metalinmyveins
Metal is in my blood
Metal is in my blood
metalinmyveins

Number of posts : 3195
Age : 49

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Icon_minitimeThu Jan 23, 2020 8:16 pm

Eyesore wrote:


Flick of the Switch is the best AC/DC album.


Fuck yes, though "Powerage" is damn close!

Back to top Go down
Gilbert
Metal is Forever
Gilbert

Number of posts : 7784
Age : 45

It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Icon_minitimeThu Jan 23, 2020 11:03 pm

metalinmyveins wrote:
Eyesore wrote:


Flick of the Switch is the best AC/DC album.


Fuck yes, though "Powerage" is damn close!


Well i am starting to agree. I was playing it while working late at the office last night and realized how good the tunes really are.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!   It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS! - Page 4 Icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
It's that time again...for MORE UNPOPULAR OPINIONS!
Back to top 
Page 4 of 9Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Heart Of Metal :: Music Forums :: Heart Of Metal-
Jump to: