Heart Of Metal
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeLatest imagesRegisterLog in

Downgrading my collection - a strange mood....

Go down 
+10
Fat Freddy
MetalGuy71
Stender
mc666
nevermore
exact33
krokus
ultmetal
tohostudios
scottmitchell74
14 posters
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
scottmitchell74
Jada Pinkett Smith's Cabana Boy
scottmitchell74

Number of posts : 9051

Downgrading my collection - a strange mood.... Empty
PostSubject: Downgrading my collection - a strange mood....   Downgrading my collection - a strange mood.... Icon_minitimeSat Feb 09, 2008 11:17 am

Funny thing...I'm in the process (and close to completing) of upgrading my Christian metal from cassette to cd. Just a few more to go!

However, I've been struck with this strange mood to downgrade to vinyl some much older material.

I recently started playing the few records I do have while in the garage lifting, cleaning, working, whatever...and I've enjoyed the experience. There's something about that vinyl sound that I'm digging. I think it's taking me back to my first music love in the late 70's early 80's. I'm sure nostalgia has a lot to do with this. My point is this - I find it ironic that CDs are what I struggle to obtain but now here I am buying old Dio, Iron Maiden, etc...records! I'm moving backwards!!

Anyone else been struck with this "backward" thinking lately? I'm not doing this as a collector. I otherwise don't have the titles I'm regaining. I want the music for the garage. It just strikes me as almost silly or absurd. How many records were just tossed or sold for pennies on the dollar years and years ago and now there's a rather large market and profitable industry for those who manage to have those records. It all comes around again, doesn't it?
Back to top Go down
tohostudios
King Of Kaiju
tohostudios

Number of posts : 30892