Heart Of Metal
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeLatest imagesRegisterLog in

A technical question

Go down 
+10
brokentulsa
mc666
tohostudios
Sword Of The Heretic
assault_attack
James B.
MetallicSeminarian
Fat Freddy
bassman
Mglaffas81
14 posters
AuthorMessage
Mglaffas81
Heart of Metal
Heart of Metal
Mglaffas81

Number of posts : 2256

A technical question Empty
PostSubject: A technical question   A technical question Icon_minitimeSat Aug 16, 2014 9:27 am

First off, this is not about being all douchy about grouping genres into pigeon holes, It's just something I've been wondering for years.

Ult (and others), is (or should I write "are"?) much older than me and he frequently expresses how bands like Kiss are always called hard rock and not really metal, but how in his days, people called it "metal" - my question, is "metal" always based on heaviness? I'm a drummer, but I know jack-sh#t about musical theory, but can something labelled "hard rock" be musically "heavier" than "metal"? I mean, can a structure of a song be more indicative of a genre than audio?
Back to top Go down
bassman
Heart of Metal
Heart of Metal
bassman

Number of posts : 1939

PostSubject: Re: A technical question   A technical question Icon_minitimeSat Aug 16, 2014 12:04 pm

I just think that genres used to be a lot broader than they are now......metal covered everything from Aerosmith to Slayer back in the day.

Now everything is divided into these little sub-genres and people get insulted if you don't identify their music by exactly the correct term.
Back to top Go down
Fat Freddy
Metal, Movies, Beer
Metal, Movies, Beer
Fat Freddy

Number of posts : 37869

PostSubject: Re: A technical question   A technical question Icon_minitimeSat Aug 16, 2014 12:42 pm

Oy....I stopped giving a f*ck about such nonsense ages ago. Life's too short to worry about what box a certain band goes in.