Heart Of Metal
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeLatest imagesRegisterLog in

raw or polished production?

Go down 
+15
HellRaiser
Angelcake Adonisus Fox
DeathCult
thejokeriv
jstate
MetalGuy71
krokus
Stender
mc666
Thrasher73
DallasBlack
Smindas
scottmitchell74
tohostudios
Vordul
19 posters
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage

raw or polished production? Empty
PostSubject: raw or polished production?   raw or polished production? Icon_minitimeThu Mar 13, 2008 1:05 am

First, I'd like to say that this is my first post. I'm pretty stoked: I've been checking this forum out for about two years, but, for why I don't know, didn't sign up until now. As a 20 year old male in Victoria, BC, I can say it's nice to be able to finally be with my own kind of people (not the fancy club goers we have here).

Anyway, what do you guys think about modern, overly-polished production in (most) metal albums?

I think it's safe to say that most rock'n'roll enthusiasts prize raw production that resembles albums of the 70s (I'm one of them). But, metal is a different story: as a much more musically dynamic and intellectually engaging genre, does metal require the better technology to do justice to the art? Perhaps old-school thrash bands would better fit raw production, but more technical metal seems to sound much better with the elaborare production.
Back to top Go down
Vordul
Metal graduate
Metal graduate
Vordul

Number of posts : 322

PostSubject: Re: raw or polished production?   raw or polished production? Icon_minitimeThu Mar 13, 2008 8:15 am

old school death metal >>>>>>> RAW

uncle saxon's cold shower rendition of BRITNEY doing WHITNEY

'I WILL ALWAYS LOVE YOU' >>>>>> POLISHED

:hails: humble :hails:
Back to top Go down
tohostudios
King Of Kaiju
tohostudios

Number of posts : 30892

PostSubject: Re: raw or polished production?   raw or polished production? Icon_minitimeThu Mar 13, 2008 8:18 am