Heart Of Metal
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeLatest imagesRegisterLog in

Weights, crossfit, body training etc

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
Stender
The lost Ramone
Stender

Number of posts : 6557

Weights, crossfit, body training etc Empty
PostSubject: Weights, crossfit, body training etc   Weights, crossfit, body training etc Icon_minitimeTue May 15, 2018 8:45 pm

I thought back in the day we had a weightlifting thread somewhere on the forum but I can't seem to find it. I'm pretty new to exercising, but I wanted to reach out about other folks regimens, diets, etc.

This is my second season as a wildland firefighter in the pacific northwest and during the off season I try to prioritize keeping my upper body strength up as well as my cardio threshold. What kind of strength training exercises do you use to build mass and increase your aerobic threshold?
Back to top Go down
scottmitchell74
Jada Pinkett Smith's Cabana Boy
scottmitchell74

Number of posts : 9047

PostSubject: Re: Weights, crossfit, body training etc   Weights, crossfit, body training etc Icon_minitimeWed May 16, 2018 9:34 am

Stender:

Awesome that you're a FFer! Didn't know that.

For weights I keep it simple: Squats, BP, Deadlift, pushups, pullups, situps. A lot of people like to do other things, and that's fine because the key is to find what works for you. THAT SAID, those are all compound lifts - meaning they use more than one joint and one muscle at a time = more bang/muscle for your effort.