Heart Of Metal
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeLatest imagesRegisterLog in

Phil Collins Retiring

Go down 
+9
Getizzyback
Fat Freddy
shamgar75
jstate
Troublezone
exact33
tohostudios
manny
chewie
13 posters
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
chewie
Metal is Forever
chewie

Number of posts : 5014

Phil Collins Retiring Empty
PostSubject: Phil Collins Retiring   Phil Collins Retiring Icon_minitimeMon Mar 07, 2011 12:12 pm

I just heard that he is retiring due to health reasons. I know it's selfish, but I was hoping that Genesis would do a small tour with Peter and Steve(maybe a Lamb tour) or with Steve(that way they can play up to Wind & Wuthering).

I think he is very underrated as a drummer. I know I underrated him until I started playing drums and listening to him in the fusion band Brand X and then going back and actually "listening" to what he did in Genesis: Behind The Lines, Squonk, Dance On A Volcano, Los Endos even Turn It On Again and everything off of Seconds Out.

One of my influences and not just because I'm a lefty.
Back to top Go down
manny
mini boss
mini boss
manny

Number of posts : 21101

PostSubject: Re: Phil Collins Retiring   Phil Collins Retiring Icon_minitimeMon Mar 07, 2011 12:16 pm

I think he is a great drummer, singer, and songwriting, he's had a hell of a career and as a fan I am selfish because I wish he would have continued but he has given us a lifetime of music.

Back to top Go down
tohostudios
King Of Kaiju
tohostudios

Number of posts : 30892

PostSubject: Re: Phil Collins Retiring   Phil Collins Retiring Icon_minitimeMon Mar 07, 2011 12:17 pm

Whew. One down, two more to go. Razz

PostSubject: Re: Phil Collins Retiring   Phil Collins Retiring Icon_minitimeMon Mar 07, 2011 12:23 pm

I like his days in Genesis best though some of his solo stuff is pretty good. He did delve into syrupy stuff that had me scratching my head.
Back to top Go down
exact33
The King