Heart Of Metal
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeLatest imagesRegisterLog in

Back to old school

Go down 
+10
stepcousin
scottmitchell74
Stender
Lari
jstate
Addy
Metallic Blaze
Orion Crystal Ice
Temple of Blood
Gilbert
14 posters
AuthorMessage
Gilbert
Metal is Forever
Gilbert

Number of posts : 9939

Back to old school Empty
PostSubject: Back to old school   Back to old school Icon_minitimeFri Mar 12, 2010 2:56 pm

I've been listening to nothing but old school metal for the last six months: black sabbath, deep purple, AC/DC, accept, nazareth...

I don't think it's a nostalgia issue. It's just that this music is so good that new releases can barely compete with it. Back to old school 11840

Don't you agree?
Back to top Go down
Temple of Blood
Metal is Forever
Temple of Blood

Number of posts : 5704

Back to old school Empty
PostSubject: Re: Back to old school   Back to old school Icon_minitimeFri Mar 12, 2010 3:02 pm

For the most part. But there are some great worthy releases in the underground that get ignored because of all the major label metal releases that have more hype and crowd out the better stuff.
Back to top Go down
Orion Crystal Ice
Metal is in my blood
Metal is in my blood
Orion Crystal Ice

Number of posts : 4201

Back to old school Empty
PostSubject: Re: Back to old school   Back to old school Icon_minitimeFri Mar 12, 2010 3:05 pm

No. But it could be that what you refer to as good in an objective sense is just a lot of aspects that bands from a certain period shared, from production values to the influences they had as they came up..things that are mostly exclusive to bands of that ilk. Which.. it's your preference, and there is nothing wrong with it. But it is subjective.