Heart Of Metal
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeLatest imagesRegisterLog in

Does Metal Exist?

Go down 
+3
SideShowDisaSter
AchrisK
SAHB Healer
7 posters
AuthorMessage
SAHB Healer
Metal is in my blood
Metal is in my blood
SAHB Healer

Number of posts : 2793

Does Metal Exist? Empty
PostSubject: Does Metal Exist?   Does Metal Exist? Icon_minitimeThu Jun 21, 2007 6:14 pm

I'm not a musician; can't read music; and don't know any music theory; so I'm jumping in way over my head here. However the discussions we have all the time about whether somethign is or isn't "metal" made me think back to a book I read in the 90's called "Runnin' With The Devil"; by Robert Walser(more to do with Eddie VanHalen than religion).
Briefly stated (and poorly understood by me); Walser's thesis is rooted in classical music theory, in which there are various "modes" (progressive musicians would prefer them to be called traditions, saying that there can be an infinite amount of non-traditional modes). Walser contends that much of popular music (other than big band, etc.) before the Rock era was primarily written in the "Ionian" mode, which is pop friendly and melodic. Rock was usually written in the "Aeolian" or Dorian modes, which are blues friendly. According to Walser, most early "Hard Rock" was written in the Aeolian blues based mode, and simply given a more excting "affect" by use of technology (amplification, distortion, fuzzboxes).