Heart Of Metal
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeLatest imagesRegisterLog in

cut-out albums

Go down 
+3
Fat Freddy
Wargod
Stender
7 posters
AuthorMessage
Stender
The lost Ramone
Stender

Number of posts : 6557

cut-out albums Empty
PostSubject: cut-out albums   cut-out albums Icon_minitimeSun Jun 01, 2008 1:13 am

I know what they are and how they can drop a discs price faster then you can even say "cutout", but why? Is it a promotional or radiostation thing to keep track of CD's? I'm kind of new to the whole collecters deal, just wondering....
Back to top Go down
Wargod
Metal is in my blood
Metal is in my blood
Wargod

Number of posts : 4272

cut-out albums Empty
PostSubject: Re: cut-out albums   cut-out albums Icon_minitimeSun Jun 01, 2008 10:01 am

I used to buy cutouts on vinyl alot back in the 70's and 80's I think the reason was to get rid of them as those were not selling as fast as most wanted them to!

You will see the "(C)" designation at the end of the album description area on some albums. This means the record was a "Cutout". A cutout refers to a small physical mark or cut on the album cover. It can be a small hole or slit in the album cover, but it does not affect the actual record. These records were "leftovers" produced by the record company and sold at a discount to retailers. Cutouts are priced no higher than "Better than Poor but Below Good" (4) condition, but they could have a "99" condition rating.

Wargod48
Back to top Go down
Fat Freddy
Metal, Movies, Beer
Metal, Movies, Beer
Fat Freddy

Number of posts : 37656

cut-out albums Empty
PostSubject: Re: cut-out albums   cut-out albums Icon_minitimeSun Jun 01, 2008 10:04 am

Hardcore collectors hate cut outs because they generally want their albums/CDs as "mint" and unmarked as possible, but if it weren't for record store cut-out bins back in the 80s, I never would've had as many albums as I did!