Heart Of Metal
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeLatest imagesRegisterLog in

Happy 113th Birthday Dr. Seuss!

Go down 
+5
Required Fields
exact33
Thrasher73
glassprison
tohostudios
9 posters
AuthorMessage
tohostudios
King Of Kaiju
tohostudios

Number of posts : 30892

Happy 113th Birthday Dr. Seuss! Empty
PostSubject: Happy 113th Birthday Dr. Seuss!   Happy 113th Birthday Dr. Seuss! Icon_minitimeThu Mar 02, 2017 6:36 pm

March 2 is the birthday of Theodore Geisel aka Dr. Seuss. 

Talk about leaving your mark on the world!  I don't know about anyone else here but I started learning to read with the Dr. Seuss Alphabet Book back in the early 60s.  Then I moved up to The Cat In The Hat, Green Eggs and Ham and One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish.   From there I worked my way deeper into the Seuss catalog and discovered the Star-bellied Sneeches and my all-time favorite Seuss book "I Had Trouble In Getting To Solla Sollew".  I still think of that book any time I get lost or whenever I'm having a difficult time trying to accomplish something.

Judging by the features honoring his birthday that various newcasts are showing, kids are STILL learning to read by reading Dr. Seuss. How's this for a legacy:

Quote :
His books have topped many bestseller lists, sold over 600 million copies, and been translated into more than 20 languages.[2] In 2000, Publishers Weekly compiled a list of the best-selling children's books of all time; of the top 100 hardcover books, 16 were written by Geisel, including Green Eggs and Ham, at number 4, The Cat in the Hat, at number 9, and One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish, at number 13
 And to this day I describe any weird-looking plant or tree as a "Dr. Seuss tree":

Happy 113th Birthday Dr. Seuss! Truffula-trees

So here's to Dr. Seuss who has probably done more for literacy in the world than practically anyone else I can think of... headbanger cheers

Metal is in my blood