HomeRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 My blog on HubPages.com - Reviews of Music, Movies, etc.

Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1 ... 19 ... 34, 35, 36
AuthorMessage
Fat Freddy
Lord of all PBR's
Lord of all PBR's
Fat Freddy

Number of posts : 32658
Age : 48

PostSubject: Re: My blog on HubPages.com - Reviews of Music, Movies, etc.   Sun Nov 11, 2018 8:15 pm

Dark Horseman wrote:
I can listen to good melodeath like Dark Tranquillity and old In Flames before they morphed into something unlistenable. This is mediocre at best and the cleans sound like some early 2000's emocore crap. Sorry, just my opinion.

Ha! All good, it ain't like these guys are personal friends of mine. Honestly, while writing this one I was trying not to sound like "Ehh, all this growly stuff sounds the same to me," haha

_________________
"I am reluctant to get too deep into politics, and I donít expect politicians to get too deep into music."
- Paul Stanley

HEY KIDS! Check out my way-cool CD and movie reviews and other geeky nonsense on the HubPages Network: http://hubpages.com/@fatfreddyscat
...and for even MORE Metal & Movie fun, check out my lame ass Tumblr blog! http://keefer1970.tumblr.com/
Back to top Go down
Dark Horseman
Metal Wanker
Dark Horseman

Number of posts : 5365
Age : 51

PostSubject: Re: My blog on HubPages.com - Reviews of Music, Movies, etc.   Sun Nov 11, 2018 11:48 pm

You sound like my Mom. lol!
Back to top Go down
Fat Freddy
Lord of all PBR's
Lord of all PBR's
Fat Freddy

Number of posts : 32658
Age : 48

PostSubject: Re: My blog on HubPages.com - Reviews of Music, Movies, etc.   Mon Nov 12, 2018 7:06 am

Dark Horseman wrote:
You sound like my Mom. lol!

You kids and your devil music! Get off my lawn! Very Happy

...but seriously, I honestly don't know enough about the melo-death genre to tell good from bad. Dude seemed like a nice guy so I'm not gonna shred his band just cuz it's not in my musical wheelhouse.

It's not the first time a band has hit me up from a genre I'm unfamiliar with -- awhile ago some dude sent me his one-man death/black metal project (!) to review, and I know absolutely *nothing* about black metal -- I even emailed him like "Dude, are you *sure* you sent this to the right guy? I usually write about hair metal bands," haha, but he was like "that's fine, write whatever you want, I'm just trying to get my name out there. "

So that's when I fall back on the "It's not my thing personally but if you like (various band names) maybe you'll dig this."

_________________
"I am reluctant to get too deep into politics, and I donít expect politicians to get too deep into music."
- Paul Stanley

HEY KIDS! Check out my way-cool CD and movie reviews and other geeky nonsense on the HubPages Network: http://hubpages.com/@fatfreddyscat
...and for even MORE Metal & Movie fun, check out my lame ass Tumblr blog! http://keefer1970.tumblr.com/
Back to top Go down
Dark Horseman
Metal Wanker
Dark Horseman

Number of posts : 5365
Age : 51

PostSubject: Re: My blog on HubPages.com - Reviews of Music, Movies, etc.   Mon Nov 12, 2018 11:22 am

Well, it's nice of them, it's just very mediocre. On to the next review.
Back to top Go down
Fat Freddy
Lord of all PBR's
Lord of all PBR's
Fat Freddy

Number of posts : 32658
Age : 48

PostSubject: Re: My blog on HubPages.com - Reviews of Music, Movies, etc.   Tue Nov 20, 2018 6:15 pm

Two new ones! I've been on a Tony Martin-era Black Sabbath kick, so I reviewed two of my favorite Sabbath albums from that era.


"Headless Cross"
https://spinditty.com/genres/Forgotten-Hard-Rock-Albums-Black-Sabbath-Headless-Cross


"Cross Purposes"
https://spinditty.com/genres/Forgotten-Hard-Rock-Albums-Black-Sabbath-Cross-Purposes

_________________
"I am reluctant to get too deep into politics, and I donít expect politicians to get too deep into music."
- Paul Stanley

HEY KIDS! Check out my way-cool CD and movie reviews and other geeky nonsense on the HubPages Network: http://hubpages.com/@fatfreddyscat
...and for even MORE Metal & Movie fun, check out my lame ass Tumblr blog! http://keefer1970.tumblr.com/
Back to top Go down
Dark Horseman
Metal Wanker
Dark Horseman

Number of posts : 5365
Age : 51

PostSubject: Re: My blog on HubPages.com - Reviews of Music, Movies, etc.   Wed Nov 21, 2018 11:52 am

Headless Cross is a great album, Cozy is the best drummer they had imo. The rest of the Martin stuff isn't up to par with this album
Back to top Go down
Fat Freddy
Lord of all PBR's
Lord of all PBR's
Fat Freddy

Number of posts : 32658
Age : 48

PostSubject: Re: My blog on HubPages.com - Reviews of Music, Movies, etc.   Wed Nov 21, 2018 12:16 pm

Dark Horseman wrote:
Headless Cross is a great album, Cozy is the best drummer they had imo. The rest of the Martin stuff isn't up to par with this album

Yep, H.C. is my favorite from that era.

Someone on Facebook asked me if I was gonna do columns on "Tyr" and or "Forbidden" next ... I told'em Tyr might be a possibility down the road somewhere, but I wouldn't be much to say about Forbidden other than "...Meh." Haha.

_________________
"I am reluctant to get too deep into politics, and I donít expect politicians to get too deep into music."
- Paul Stanley

HEY KIDS! Check out my way-cool CD and movie reviews and other geeky nonsense on the HubPages Network: http://hubpages.com/@fatfreddyscat
...and for even MORE Metal & Movie fun, check out my lame ass Tumblr blog! http://keefer1970.tumblr.com/
Back to top Go down
Fat Freddy
Lord of all PBR's
Lord of all PBR's
Fat Freddy

Number of posts : 32658
Age : 48

PostSubject: Re: My blog on HubPages.com - Reviews of Music, Movies, etc.   Wed Dec 05, 2018 9:21 am

Two new entries this week:

This thrash/crossover band from Va. was nice enough to send me their CD... check em out if ya like GWAR, Municipal Waste, D.R.I. or the DK's.

https://spinditty.com/genres/Stuck-Backwards-Fear-of-a-Prison-Planet-Album-Review

...and just in time for the holidays, "Forgotten Hard Rock Albums" looks back at Halford''s Winter Songs"...

https://spinditty.com/genres/Forgotten-Hard-Rock-Albums-Halford-Winter-Songs

_________________
"I am reluctant to get too deep into politics, and I donít expect politicians to get too deep into music."
- Paul Stanley

HEY KIDS! Check out my way-cool CD and movie reviews and other geeky nonsense on the HubPages Network: http://hubpages.com/@fatfreddyscat
...and for even MORE Metal & Movie fun, check out my lame ass Tumblr blog! http://keefer1970.tumblr.com/
Back to top Go down
Dark Horseman
Metal Wanker
Dark Horseman

Number of posts : 5365
Age : 51

PostSubject: Re: My blog on HubPages.com - Reviews of Music, Movies, etc.   Wed Dec 05, 2018 11:36 am

Agreed on the Halford Christmas album, I didn't expect to like it as much as I do.
Back to top Go down
Fat Freddy
Lord of all PBR's
Lord of all PBR's
Fat Freddy

Number of posts : 32658
Age : 48

PostSubject: Re: My blog on HubPages.com - Reviews of Music, Movies, etc.   Wed Jan 23, 2019 10:36 am

I used the long holiday weekend to bang out my first three entries of 2019:

A look back at Bruce Dickinson's Accident of Birth:

https://spinditty.com/genres/Forgotten-Hard-Rock-Albums-Bruce-Dickinson-Accident-Of-Birth-1997

Revisiting KISS' Animalize:

https://hubpages.com/entertainment/Revisiting-KISS-Animalize

The strange saga of Warrior Soul's Chill Pill:

https://spinditty.com/genres/Forgotten-Hard-Rock-Albums-Warrior-Soul-Chill-Pill

_________________
"I am reluctant to get too deep into politics, and I donít expect politicians to get too deep into music."
- Paul Stanley

HEY KIDS! Check out my way-cool CD and movie reviews and other geeky nonsense on the HubPages Network: http://hubpages.com/@fatfreddyscat
...and for even MORE Metal & Movie fun, check out my lame ass Tumblr blog! http://keefer1970.tumblr.com/
Back to top Go down
Dark Horseman
Metal Wanker
Dark Horseman

Number of posts : 5365
Age : 51

PostSubject: Re: My blog on HubPages.com - Reviews of Music, Movies, etc.   Wed Jan 23, 2019 11:16 am

Accident was a good album but Chemical Wedding was amazing.

I'm not a huge Kiss fan, mostly like the singles except for Creatures and Destroyer.


Not into WS but Korey seemed as big an ass as Axl without the fame.


Back to top Go down
Fat Freddy
Lord of all PBR's
Lord of all PBR's
Fat Freddy

Number of posts : 32658
Age : 48

PostSubject: Re: My blog on HubPages.com - Reviews of Music, Movies, etc.   Wed Jan 23, 2019 11:33 am

Quote :
Not into WS but Korey seemed as big an ass as Axl without the fame.

That's a pretty damn accurate assessment. Laughing very hard

_________________
"I am reluctant to get too deep into politics, and I donít expect politicians to get too deep into music."
- Paul Stanley

HEY KIDS! Check out my way-cool CD and movie reviews and other geeky nonsense on the HubPages Network: http://hubpages.com/@fatfreddyscat
...and for even MORE Metal & Movie fun, check out my lame ass Tumblr blog! http://keefer1970.tumblr.com/
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: My blog on HubPages.com - Reviews of Music, Movies, etc.   

Back to top Go down
 
My blog on HubPages.com - Reviews of Music, Movies, etc.
Back to top 
Page 36 of 36Go to page : Previous  1 ... 19 ... 34, 35, 36
 Similar topics
-
» LChris & Dyebat's posts on their blog, 6 December 2010
» FROM ROSALINDA HUTTON'S BLOG
» Music Outreach Ministry?
» Piano sheet music
» New music -- old music.

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Heart Of Metal :: General Forums :: Of Unsound Mind-
Jump to: